< Back to Press Releases


Gamers across Europe will soon be able to enjoy the ultimate racing experience against the backdrop of a killer soundtrack by UK record label Ninja Tune, US artists The Crystal Method and Grammy Award-winning producer Jacknife Lee. In addition to new and exclusive 20 minutes worth of dynamic tracks by The Crystal Method, the eclectic score also features music by both iconic and up-and-coming Ninja Tune artists including Coldcut, The Qemists and The Herbaliser, while Jacknife Lee provides six original tracks. With a heart-pounding, adrenaline-pumping,‘pedal to the metal’ score, Blur is available across Europe on Friday, 28th May.

“The style, look and feel of Blur is a solid match for the type of music Ninja Tune represents. The eighteen tracks we’ve selected form an awesome soundtrack for the chaotic, high-octane on-track action,” Adrian Kemp of Ninja Tune said.

“Videogames are a great medium to share new music with a new audience, so we were thrilled to be involved with Blur. A soundtrack is always key to enhancing the atmosphere of a game, and we feel our music reflects the frenetic tone of Blur, making the whole experience more intense and exciting,” explained Scott Kirkland of The Crystal Method.

“The music in Blur plays a huge role in the overall gameplay experience, making players feel like they’re right at the heart of the action,” added Jacknife Lee.“It was refreshing to work within a medium that engages the listener in such a unique, exciting way.”

Ninja Tune is a London-based independent record label founded by DJs Matt Black and Jonathan More. The past twenty years has seen the label accrue a diverse assortment of acclaimed DJs, producers and performing artists, including world-renowned talent such as Roots Manuva, Mr Scruff, The Herbaliser and The Qemists, to name but a few. Eighteen booming tracks* from Ninja Tune will be available to listen to in Blur when it hits European stores next Friday.

The Crystal Method is a platinum-selling, grammy nominated, innovative electronic outfit made up of Nevada-born DJs Ken Jordan and Scott Kirkland. Most recently famed for their 2009 hit album release Divided By Night, they will be wowing Blur gamers with twenty minutes of entirely original music.

Hailing from Ireland and having cut his teeth in the world of music as the guitarist in punk band Compulsion, Jacknife Lee is a Grammy Award-winning producer who has collaborated with some of the biggest names in world music, including U2 and Snow Patrol. The sought-after artist has provided six brand new tracks for gamers to Shunt, Barge and Shock each other to.

For more information on Blur™: http://www.blurgame.com. Follow us on Facebook, Twitter and join the Powered-Up Blur Community.

For more information on Ninja Tune visit: http://www.ninjatune.net

For more information on The Crystal Method visit: http://thecrystalmethod.com

For more information on Jacknife Lee visit: http://www.jacknifelee.com

About Blur:

Blur™ is the ultimate powered-up racing experience, dropping players into heart-pumping, electrified action with up to 20 cars trading paint as they charge towards the finish line. Drivers careen through real-world track locations packed with fast curves, sneaky alternate routes and hair-raising jumps in over 50 licensed cars as they collect and tactically utilize intense Power-ups, including the ability to blast other cars out of the way with huge bursts of energy, boost their speed, and more. For the ultimate multiplayer racing gameplay experience, Blur offers a first in the racing genre with up to 20 players online at the same time, a progressive ranking system that rewards gamers the more they play, objective based race events, and if that weren’t enough, Blur brings back a fan favourite with 4-player split-screen gameplay. Blur will be available in the US on 25th May and in European stores on 28th May for Xbox 360, PS3 and PC.

? 2010 Activision Publishing, Inc. Activision is a registered trademark and Blur is a trademark of Activision Publishing, Inc.

Notes to editors:

*Ninja Tune Full Tracklist:

1. Atomic Moog (The Qemists Remix) - Coldcut

2. Bump (Best Fwends Remix)– Spank Rock

3. Coleen (Rhythm Beater Remix)– The Heavy

4. Delucid– Pest

5. Dem Na Like Me (VIP Mix)– The Qemists feat. Wiley

6. Everything is under Control (DJ Kentaro Remix) - Coldcut

7. Gadget Funk– The Herbaliser

8. Harvest Dance– DJ Kentaro feat. Hifana

9. Let There Be Light– The Qemists

10. Make It So (xxx Remix instr)– Daedelus

11. Nothing 2 Step 2 (Trevor Loveys Remix) - Thunderheist

12. On The Run (VIP Mix)– The Qemists feat. Jenna G

13. Pat Pong (Solid Groove remix) - Pest

14. Red Laser Beam– Hexstatic

15. StompBox (Spor Remix)– The Qemists

16. S.W.A.G.– The Qemists feat. Zoe Devlin Love

17. Te Quiero (Aftc Remix)– Zero dB

18. That Girl (Instrumental)– 2 Fingers

Games Press

Games Press is the leading online resource for games journalists. Used daily by magazines, newspapers, TV, radio, online media and retailers worldwide, it offers a vast, constantly updated archive of press releases and assets, and is the simplest and most cost-effective way for PR professionals to reach the widest possible audience. Registration for the site and the Games Press email digest is available, to the trade only, at www.gamespress.com